

Emergency Medicine Residents' Association

April 15, 2024

Following the announcement of the EDUCATE Act, the EMRA Board of Directors has engaged in thorough discussions regarding Congressman Greg Murphy's scheduled appearance at the ACEP Leadership and Advocacy Conference. In the end, the EMRA Board objected to Congressman Murphy's presence at LAC, as the beliefs reflected in his proposed bill are antithetical to EMRA and ACEP's shared core value of supporting a diverse and equitable specialty and are detrimental to many individuals.

The EMRA Board engaged in discussions with the ACEP Board of Directors to express our concerns and viewpoints. Our colleagues on the ACEP Board shared that they have also given the Congressman's presence significant consideration in light of his introduction of the EDUCATE Act. They expressed to us first and foremost that they do not in any way support the EDUCATE Act and have made that sentiment clear to Congressman Murphy. They also explained their belief that, given his influential role in federal health legislation and the fight for stability of this specialty and our future careers, engaging him in discussions at LAC offers more benefit to the field of Emergency Medicine as well as DEI efforts through creating an opportunity to challenge his proposed bill and associated viewpoints.

Although EMRA maintains its stance against Congressman Murphy's involvement at LAC, we acknowledge ACEP's rationale and respect their considered decision. ACEP has extended an invitation to EMRA to question the Congressman during the Q&A session, an opportunity we plan to utilize to advocate on behalf of our members.

Board of Directors Blake Denley, MD President Jessica Adkins Murphy, MD Immediate Past-President David Wilson, MD President-Elect Michaela Banks, MD, MBA Speaker of the Council Jacob Altholz, MD Vice Speaker of the Council Morgan Sweere, MD, MPH Secretary/EM Resident Editor Aaron R. Kuzel, DO, MBA EMRA Representative to ACEP Joe-Ann Moser, MD, MS Director of Education Kenneth Kim, MD Director of Health Policy Derek Martinez, DO Director of Leadership Development Angela Wu, MD, MPH **EMRA** Representative to AMA Jinger Sanders

Executive Director Kris Williams, CAE

Medical Student Council Chair